Avocado Smoothie

Want some YUMMMM in your life?  I thought so!  And great news is, this YUM is also good for your TUM and won’t add extra pounds to your BUM!!  :-))

Lean & Green Smoothie

Serves 3-4; I often 1/2 the recipe if I know I won’t be sharing or be around to drink 2 in one day.

INGREDIENTS:                                                                                                                    

2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1 banana, peeled

1 cup organic spinach (I often toss in a little more)

1 apple, cored, and sliced (I used Honeycrisp this week-YUM)

1/2 avocado, pitted, peeled

3 Tbsp. ground flax seed (mine is golden flax which I LOVE with the avocado)

2 Tbsp. honey

1 cup ice cubes

DIRECTIONS:

1. Blend all ingredients until smooth. **see note below** Add 1 cup of ice, more or less to achieve your desired thickness and temperature.  I don’t like my smoothies luke warm so ice is imperative for me.  I do store my extras in the fridge until I’m ready for it and typically just stir with a fork or straw.  On occasion I may add ice and re-blend to freshen up the green goodness.

NOTE: You could use any kind of milk for the base.  Skim milk, coconut milk, soy milk, etc.

I had this today for breakfast with 2 slices of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread.  Mmmm, good!

**I can’t say how other blenders will do with this smoothie and all the other great recipes out there, but what I can say is that I.  AM.  IN.  LOVE.  with my blender and  would chose it over my car most days!  I have the Vitamix 5200 and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it to anyone wanting to lead a healthy lifestyle.  It makes food prep quick and easy, not to mention clean-up is a breeze!  The machine cleans itself!!  I love and care about this product so much and the difference it has made in my life!  Since purchasing the Vitamix on April 29, 2012 it has been used 300 times!!  There isn’t a day it goes unused unless we are out of town!  Feel free to message me with any questions about the blender.  I will include a special code that will give you FREE SHIPPING, which saves you $25.  Did I mention this machine comes with a 7 year warranty!!  I know many people who use their Vitamix daily and have had it for 15 years +.  It’s an investment, but well worth it!  Here is the code for free shipping:

***06-007785 ***                                                                                                                               
GET FREE STANDARD SHIPPING ($25US/$35CN)
USE ABOVE CODE
1-800-848-2649

https://secure.vitamix.com/5200-Getting-Started.aspx?COUPON=06-007785

5 thoughts on “Avocado Smoothie

Leave a Reply

